Skip to content

Up! (2010)

for orchestra
3333 – 4331 – harp – piano/celesta – timp.- 4 perc. – strings
duration: 3 minutes
Commissioned by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Premiered by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Robert Spano conducting (September 30, 2010)

Up! is dedicated to Robert Spano in honor of his 10 years with the illustrious ASO. The fanfare is built on major and minor 3rds that travel in parallel motion throughout the entire piece while constantly modulating. The title comes from the upward motion of the work and my desire to create a succinct, swift, and hopefully inspiring and uplifting piece.