Skip to content

Ahava (2014)

for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano
duration: 10 min.
Commissioned by The Atlanta Chamber Players
Premiered by The Atlanta Chamber Players (November 9, 2014)


Ahava is the first work of mine written in the key of C. The characteristics and emotions of C embody love, innocence, cheerfulness, and are completely pure. My music for the past year has very much been inspired by the birth of my son, Luca, who each and every day inspires me. He lives entirely in the moment, and I wanted to write a piece that represents my life right now: a work filled with atmosphere, rhythm, and joy. The work ends with a feeling of prayer, as the piano plays a chorale-like lullaby. This work is dedicated to Steven and Lynne Steindel and the ATL Symphony Musicians.